Little River County

About Us


Monday - Friday

8:00am - 4:30pm


351 N. 2ND STREET • ASHDOWN, AR 71822


Little River County is a county located on the southwest border of the U.S. state of Arkansas, bordering a corner with Texas and Oklahoma. As of the 2010 census, the population was 13,171.[2] The county seat is Ashdown.[3]

Little River County is included in the Texarkana, TX-AR Metropolitan Statistical Area.


Little River County is Arkansas’s 59th county, formed from Sevier County on March 5, 1867, during the Reconstruction era and named for the Little River. The county is separated from all other surrounding counties in the state by water (a characteristic shared only with neighboring Miller County). The Little River, Millwood Lake and the Red River form the boundaries of the county within the state.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 565 square miles (1,460 km2), of which 532 square miles (1,380 km2) is land and 33 square miles (85 km2) (5.8%) is water.[4] It is the third-smallest county in Arkansas by land area and fourth-smallest by total area.